May the world be your playground

It’s been a minute since my last post and there have been a lot of swirling, moving parts in my life. My recent travels have taken me to the sunshine state where I had a lot of time to relax and unwind.

I enjoyed some time in Miami, where I hung out in the Gables, Kendall, Fort Lauderdale and Davie. Although I did more resting than partying, I enjoyed my time away from the hustle and bustle. Of course the most rewarding part of the trip was spending time with my girls: Cha, Fi and Tyra.

A month later, I journeyed to Tampa where I for some quality time with the fam. Unfortunately, our family had experienced three deaths, two months apart over the course of six months. So, I was praying that no one else would pass before I made it to Tampa. On the Friday night of my trip, my cousins and I enjoyed a night out in Ybor City. Our first stop was a local restaurant and bar to see one of Tampa’s finest drag shows at Hamburger Mary’s restaurant (http://www.hamburgermarys.com/about). The show lasts for about 45 minutes, but it is quite entertaining and the performers are pure high energy. I highly recommend this show to anyone visiting Ybor City and looking for a great time. After the show, we partied the rest of the night away at Gaspar’s Grotto (gasparsgrotto.com) where we swayed to the grooving beats while enjoying the beautiful Tampa weather. We partied so hard that it was 2:30a.m. when we finally departed.

Saturday night was spent at Jackson’s Bistro (http://www.jacksonsbistro.com/) in Tampa’s Harbour Island. We arrived around 11p.m. and the party was KRAZY. The first couple of minutes was spent in the latin room listening to salsa, reggaeton, merengue, and cha cha. A little later we made our way to the hip hop room where we dropped it low, low, low, low, low, low low. I definitely got my cardio workout that night.

After recovering from the activities of the past two days, my cousins and I spent Sunday having lunch at Bahama Breeze in Clearwater, Fl. This was the perfect way to end a weekend of non-stop fun with my family. The sun was shining, the music was relaxing and love was in the air. This was one of the best visits I’ve had in a very long time.

As I look forward to my milestone birthday coming up, I am looking forward to many, many more days of sun, fun and relaxation.

Leave a Reply

