The Cap Haitien Experience: Day 2

Friday, 26 May 21017 was day two of my visit to Cap Haitien.  Having rested well from my first day and night in country, I awoke around 8:30a.m. and prepared for a day of pure relaxation and bit of beach side studying.  Breakfast was included in the room rate, so I made my way to the outdoor dining hall for a meal of pancakes, banana, mango and water to start the day.

After breakfast I visited the reception desk to make reservations for the resort shuttle to visit a local restaurant in town.  I also gave the front desk staff member $40US to exchange for local currency.  Having completed that exchange, I grabbed my study materials and headed to a lounger on the beach to review the study materials for my upcoming exam.  I carried some snacks with me on the trip, so I had a small lunch and took in a few of the tropical libations while lazing on the beach.  Having spent a few hours of taking in the sun and doing some light reading, I headed back to my temporary abode to change for a dinner on the town at the famed Lakay restaurant.  It is worth noting that the resort offers free shuttle service to and from the airport and also into town.  So, there was no need to worry about calling a cab to get around.

Lakay is a very simple, nicely decorated restaurant frequented by the locals, so I had a feeling that food had to be pretty good (especially since I am very picky).  The resort apparently has a working relationship with Lakay and gives their guests a $12 voucher to use for a meal at the restaurant.  Interestingly enough most meals only cost $9 or so.  I had a meal of fish, plantains, salad and two adult beverages.  My damage, with tip, was only $6.  I spent way too much money that day.  After dinner, I returned back to the hotel where I put in an hour of studying before heading to bed to prepare for a day of seeing the local sites.

Major takeaways:

  • If you dine on the economy, you can eat like a queen for very little money.
  • Haiti’s wi-fi network is pretty expansive and reliable.  The wi-fi at the restaurant worked just as well as that of the resort.
  • The US dollar exchange rate varies greatly.  It can fluctuate between 62HTG to 70HTG for 1 US dollar.  If you know a local, they can usually take you somewhere to get a better exchange rate than at the bank or a hotel.
Leave a Reply

